18–21 September – Introduction to Exploratory Action Research in ELT, Gauhati University, Assam, India

Screen Shot 2017-07-09 at 20.40.54

Amol Padwad and Richard Smith will lead this 4-day workshop to introduce teachers of English to the principles and practices of exploratory action research. The workshop will be followed up with mentoring and other support by volunteers from AINET, the All-India Network of English Teachers, and by the Department of ELT, Gauhati University.

Screen Shot 2017-07-09 at 20.50.20

Through this four day workshop, the Department of ELT at Gauhati University hopes to support English language teachers

  • in taking up exploratory classroom research that will give them a better understanding of their teaching and learning contexts
  • by providing them a platform to conduct, share and learn from meaningful classroom research
  • to use the experience and insights gained in the workshop to support and mentor their colleagues in conducting E-AR in their own contexts,
  • to use the experience to improve the quality of student learning, and
  • to contribute effectively to research in the wider field of ELT

Screen Shot 2017-07-09 at 20.41.12

Provisional timetable 

Date Day Morning Afternoon
    10:00–11.30 11.30–1:00 2:00–3:30 3.30–5:00
18.09.2017 Mon. (Day 1) Inaugural session Ice-breaking and introduction(RS & AP) Research, teacher-research and exploratory action research (RS & AP)
19.09.2017 Tues. (Day 2) From successes, puzzles and problems to research questions (RS & AP)
20.09.2017 Wed. (Day 3) Research methods and data analysis (RS & AP)
21.09.2017 Thu. (Day 4) Sharing plans for exploratory action research (RS & AP) Valedictory session

Resource Persons for academic sessions: Dr Richard Smith (RS) and Dr Amol Padwad (AP)

Contact for further information Dr Padmini Boruah

This event is generously supported by the All-India Network of English Teachers (AINET),  the IATEFL Teacher Development SIG, British Council India, and by a University of Warwick / Economic and Social Science Research Council (UK) Impact Acceleration Award.